The Rugby World Cup

Hi I'm Rory and this is my webpage about the Rugby World Cup.

I'll be looking at the recent history of rugby, from 1987 until now.

1987 World Cup

In 1987 the first Rugby World Cup was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand. However, New Zealand hosted 8 more games than Australia including the final which the All Blacks won. South Africa were unable to compete because of the international sports boycott due to apartheid. France were runners-up. But the competition should be remembered because of an amazing try from John Kirwan for New Zealand against Italy, the link for this try is below.

Click me

1991 World Cup

The 1991 World Cup was jointly hosted by Ireland, England, Scotland, Wales and France (Italy were not included as they did not take part in the Five/Six Nations until 2000). For the first time, the Rugby World Cup was recognised as a major sporting event. Also, the teams had to qualify to get in, with Western Samoa replacing Tonga. The debutant country would then go on to the quarter-final where they lost to Scotland, who had topped their pool, beating Ireland in the process. From an Irish point of view it was heart-breaking. Ireland, in the quarter-final, played Australia who would eventually win the tournament. The match was played in Lansdowne Road. Ireland were down with a few minutes to go, when flanker Gordon Hamilton scored a brilliant try in the corner, after racing past notoriously fast Aussie winger David Campese. Ireland were up 18-15. However almost straight from the kick-off, Australian out-half Michael Lynagh scored to knock Ireland out. Australia met England in the final after they defeated New Zealand in the semi. England had edged out Scotland 9-6 in the other semi-final. The Aussies won 12-6 in the final in Twickenham.

1995 World Cup

The 1995 World Cup was the first major sporting event held in South Africa following the end of apartheid. The Springboks would go on to win the tournament, beating New Zealand in the final. It was huge for the 'rainbow nation' and also for new president Nelson Mandela. Again from an Irish point of view it was disappointing. Ireland lost 36-12 to France in the quarter-finals. The 1995 also was famous for the phenomenal talent that was Jonah Lomu, who sadly died earlier this year. His most famous try came against England in the semi-final, in which handed-off and sat down their whole back line. South Africa were victorious over New Zealand in the final thanks to an extra-time Joel Stransky drop-goal. It ended 15-12.

1999 World Cup

The 1999 World Cup was the first in rugby's professional era. it was hosted by the home nations however Wales hosted the opening match and the final. it was a very popular event as 1.75 million people attended. Australia, who would go on to win the tournament, coasted through their group, beating Ireland in the process. For the first time, a play-off decided the last three quarter-final places. Ireland, who finished second in their group, played Argentina, the best third placed finisher. In Lens, the Pumas triumphed 28-24 and carried on to the quarters, where they were beaten by France in Landsdowne Road. Australia comfortably beat France in the final, winning their second World Cup. Click me for more